Greg Brown

Weekdays, 10am - 3pm

Bruce Springsteen releasing new album ‘Western Stars’ on June 14th

NEW YORK, NY – NOVEMBER 06: Bruce Springsteen performs at the 7th annual “Stand Up For Heroes” event at Madison Square Garden on November 6, 2013 in New York City. (Photo by Jemal Countess/Getty Images)

Bruce Springsteen will release his first new album in five years on June 14th, titled, Western Stars. According to the announcement, Springsteen “takes his music to a new place, drawing inspiration in part from the Southern California pop records of the late-’60s and early-’70s. The album was recorded primarily at Springsteen’s home studio in New Jersey, with additional recording in California and New York.”

The tracklisting to Western Stars is:

“Hitch Hikin'”
“The Wayfarer”
“Tucson Train”
“Western Stars”
“Sleepy Joe’s Cafe”
“Drive Fast (The Stuntman)”
“Chasin’ Wild Horses”
“Somewhere North Of Nashville”
“There Goes My Miracle”
“Hello Sunshine”
“Moonlight Motel”

Western Stars, which is available for pre-order, was produced by Ron Aniello with Springsteen providing guitar, bass, and keyboards, among other instruments. Patti Scialfa also appears and contributed vocal arrangements on four tracks, along with original E Street Band keyboardist David Sancious and current touring members Charlie Giordano, and Soozie Tyrell, among many other musicians.

Springsteen said of the album, “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It’s a jewel box of a record.” The lyric video for the album’s track, “Hello Sunshine” was uploaded to YouTube this morning at midnight.