Talking Heads Concert Film ‘Stop Making Sense’ coming back to Theaters and Soundtrack set for Deluxe Reissue

Set for release on August 18th is the Talking Heads‘ soundtrack to their classic 1984 concert film, Stop Making Sense. The critically acclaimed Jonathan Demme concert film will hit theaters globally later this year in a newly restored 4K version.

AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS: JUNE 01: Talking Heads posed in Amsterdam, Netherlands in June 1977. L-R Chris Frantz, Tina Weymouth, David Byrne, Jerry Harrison. (Photo by Gijsbert Hanekroot/Redferns)

The new deluxe version of the soundtrack now includes the complete Stop Making Sense concert for the first time as a limited edition two-LP set, and digitally along with a Dolby Atmos mix of the complete concert, mixed by Talking Heads’ Jerry Harrison and E.T. Thorngren, who also mixed the original release.

Highlights on the set features such Talking Heads favorites as “Psycho Killer,” “Burning Down The House,” “Take Me To The River,” “Life During Wartime,” and “Once In A Lifetime,” among others.

The tracklisting to the two-LP deluxe edition of Stop Making Sense is:

Side One
1. “Psycho Killer”
2. “Heaven”
3. “Thank You For Sending Me An Angel’
4. “Found A Job”
5. “Slippery People”
6. “Cities” *

Side Two
1. “Burning Down The House”
2. “Life During Wartime”
3. “Making Flippy Floppy”
4. “Swamp”

Side Three
1. “What a Day That Was”
2. “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)”
3. “Once In A Lifetime”
4. “Big Business / I Zimbra” *

Side Four
1. “Genius Of Love”
2. “Girlfriend Is Better”
3. “Take Me To The River”
4. “Crosseyed And Painless”

* Previously Unreleased

Source: Rolling Stone