Greg Brown

Weekdays, 10am - 3pm

The Doobie Brothers and Pat Benatar Lead 2020 Rock Hall Nominations

NASHVILLE, TN – JUNE 04: The Doobie Brothers attend the 2014 CMT Music awards at the Bridgestone Arena on June 4, 2014 in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images)

The 2020 nominations for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have been announced with the Doobie Brothers, Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Whitney Houston, and Soundgarden leading the pack. Also announced were previously shortlisted artists Todd Rundgren, Kraftwerk, Rufus & Chaka Khan, MC5, and Nine Inch Nails. First time nominees include Dave Matthews Band, Depeche Mode, Motorhead, The Notorious B.I.G., T. Rex, and Thin Lizzy.

The top Rock Hall vote-getters will be announced in January and inducted on May 2nd, 2020 at Cleveland’s Public Hall, with the event airing live.

To be eligible for this year’s ballot, each nominee’s first single or album had to be released in 1994 or earlier. For the seventh consecutive year, the public will have the opportunity to vote alongside the more than 800 artists, historians and music industry insiders of the Rock Hall voting body. Fans can vote on the Rock Hall’s site for the nominees they’d like to see inducted. The top five acts will comprise a “fan’s ballot” that will count as one of the ballots that determine the class of 2020.