Greg Brown

Weekdays, 10am - 3pm

Journey, Steve Miller, Mike Love, R.E.M. lead Songwriters Hall of Fame nominations

NEW YORK, NY – JULY 29: (L-R) keyboard player Jonathan Cain, guitar player Neal Schon, singer Arnel Pineda, drummer Deen Castronovo, and bass player Ross Valory of the band Journey performs at the 2011 Today Summer Concert series at Rockefeller Plaza on July 29, 2011 in New York City. (Photo by Mike Coppola/Getty Images)

Journey, Steve Miller, R.E.M., Mike Love, the Eurythmics, Bread’s David Gates, Steve Miller, and Mariah Carey are among the nominees for the 2020 Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF). The SHOF’s 51st Annual Induction & Awards Gala will take place on June 11th, 2020 in Manhattan. Among the other performing songwriters on the shortlist are Patti Smith, Vince Gill, Gloria Estefan, and the Isley Brothers.

Variety reported the non-performing solo nominees are William “Mickey” Stevenson, Rick Nowels, Sonny Curtis, Jerry Fuller, Tony Macaulay, Bob McDill, and Roger Nichols. Non-performing songwriting duos nominated include the late Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, L. Russell Brown and the late-Irwin Levine, and Kye Fleming and Dennis Morgan.